Shadow

The history of Clophill, Bedfordshire, UK
Including historical descriptions, maps and statistical analysis.

World War One Time Line

1919

This is information gleaned from the 'Ampthill News' for the period of the war. Click to expand an item.



Saturday, January 4, 1919

On leave from France

Saturday, January 11, 1919

Recovery from illness

Saturday, January 18, 1919

POWs come home

Saturday, February 1, 1919

Demobbed and fund raising for memorial

Saturday, February 15, 1919

More fund raising and how Cyril Smith died

Saturday, February 22, 1919

Six brothers survive war. Another soldier dies

Saturday, March 29, 1919

A letter from the Rector

Saturday, April 5, 1919

Committee formed to organise war memorial

Saturday, April 12, 1919

War memorial to be at Little Lane / High Street crossroads

Saturday, May 17, 1919

Soldier dies in Serbia

Saturday, May 31, 1919

Committee formed to organise Peace Fete

Saturday, June 14, 1919

War memorial committee named

Saturday, June 28, 1919

Captain home from Arkangel

Saturday, July 5, 1919

Fund-raising and celebrations

Saturday, July 12, 1919

Peace Celebrations Committee propose free tea

Saturday, July 26, 1919

Village in state of excitement

Saturday, August 2, 1919

Penultimate demob

Saturday, August 16, 1919

Peace Fête

Saturday, August 30, 1919

Fête makes profit

Saturday, September 6, 1919

Accident

Saturday, September 20, 1919

Obelisk in polished red granite

Saturday, September 27, 1919

Another demob

Saturday, October 11, 1919

War memorial to be in centre of Church approach

Saturday, October 25, 1919

War memorial to be on left side of path