Shadow

The history of Clophill, Bedfordshire, UK
Including historical descriptions, maps and statistical analysis.

World War One Time Line

1918

This is information gleaned from the 'Ampthill News' for the period of the war. Click to expand an item.



Saturday, January 5, 1918

Two men in Italy. Letters of thanks.

Saturday, January 19, 1918

Home on leave.

Saturday, January 26, 1918

Wounded three times.

Saturday, February 2, 1918

Letters from Palestine.

Saturday, February 9, 1918

Service in Africa, Salonica, Egypt, Belgium, and France.

Saturday, February 16, 1918

Six soldier sons.

Saturday, February 23, 1918

More leave.

Saturday, March 2, 1918

Wounded then accident.

Saturday, March 9, 1918

Wounded and trench feet.

March 21st, 1918

Germany broke through on the Somme

Saturday, March 23, 1918

Wounded by gas shell.

Saturday, March 30, 1918

Three lads gassed

Saturday, April 6, 1918

No beer!

April 9th, 1918

Germany started an offensive in Flanders

Saturday, April 13, 1918

Helmet shot through! Another Killed.

Saturday, April 20, 1918

Anxiety about husbands and sons

Saturday, May 4th, 1918

Buried beneath earth fall.

Saturday, May 11, 1918

Missing. POW?

Saturday, May 18, 1918

Badly gassed.

Saturday, May 25, 1918

Awarded Military Medal.

Saturday, June 8, 1918

German prisoners work on land. Rector on Leave.

Saturday, June 15, 1918

Rector, treated for throat trouble, returns to take services.

Saturday, June 22, 1918

Village lads still enlisting. Deed of heroism.

Saturday, July 13, 1918

Seriously wounded near Ypres.

July 15th, 1918

Second Battle of the Marne started. The start of the collapse of the German army

Saturday, July 20, 1918

Battery is still very active on the Western front.

Saturday, July 27, 1918

Officers home.

Saturday, August 3, 1918

Resentment at striking workers.

August 8th, 1918

The advance of the Allies was successful

Saturday, August 10, 1918

Another death in action.

Saturday, August 24, 1918

Brave lad wins Military Medal

Saturday, August 31, 1918

Successful operation south of the river Somme.

Saturday, September 7, 1918

Two Clophill lads made supreme sacrifice.

Saturday, September 14, 1918

Over the top several times.

Saturday, September 28, 1918

More deaths.

Saturday, October 5, 1918

Released POW returns home.

Saturday, October 14, 1918

18 year old badly wounded.

Saturday, October 19, 1918

Another killed in action.

Saturday, October 26, 1918

Badly gassed.

Saturday, November 2, 1918

Wounded in the wrist fighting near Cambria.

November 9th, 1918

Kaiser William II abdicated

Saturday, November 9, 1918

In hospital.

November 11th, 1918

Germany signed an armistice with the Allies - the official date of the end of World War One

Saturday, November 16, 1918

Church bells rung for Armistice.

Saturday, November 30, 1918

More wounded.

Saturday, December 7, 1918

Long serving soldier dies. POW released.

Saturday, December 14, 1918

Lad visits parents.

Saturday, December 21, 1918

General Election. Women get vote.

Saturday, December 21, 1918

Soldiers recovering.