Shadow

The history of Clophill, Bedfordshire, UK
Including historical descriptions, maps and statistical analysis.

World War One Time Line

1915

This is information gleaned from the 'Ampthill News' for the period of the war. Click to expand an item.



January 19th, 1915

The first Zeppelin raid on Britain took place

Saturday, January 23, 1915

Royal Engineers billeted in Clophill

Saturday, February 6, 1915

More enlist. Royal Engineers arrive in Clophill. Some news from the front.
Mr. Harry Horace Quenby dies of his wounds.

Saturday, February 13, 1915

News of wounded soldier. Football game against Royal Engineers stationed at Haynes Park.

February 19th, 1915

Britain bombarded Turkish forts in the Dardanelles

Saturday, February 20, 1915

A letter from the trenches. Royal Engineers on parade.

Saturday, February 27, 1915

Royal Engineers leave for front. News from sailors.

Saturday, March 6, 1915

Fifty six local men serving in forces. R.E.s billeted in village active

Saturday, March 13, 1915

Food prices up. Soldier wounded. Anxious parents.

Saturday, March 20, 1915

R.E.s march to Church. Shrapnel wound

Saturday, March 27, 1915

Several Clophill boys wounded. Military wedding. Graphic news from the front.

Saturday, April 3, 1915

Five sons fighting. R.E. concert.

Saturday, April 17, 1915

Military manoeuvres in village.

21 April, 1915

Second Battle of Ypres

Saturday, April 24, 1915

Goings and comings.

April 25th, 1915

Allied troops landed in Gallipoli

Saturday, May 1, 1915

Some good news. Some wounded.

May 7th, 1915

The "Lusitania" was sunk by a German U-boat

Saturday, May 29, 1915

News from the trenches.

Saturday, July 10, 1915

Royal Engineers leave. Rector to be military chaplain.

Saturday, July 17, 1915

Letter from R.E.s. Some gassed.

Saturday July 24 1915

More local lads at the front.

Saturday, August 24, 1915

Reading Room used by soldiers.

Saturday, September 4, 1915

Soldier decorated. Fresh R.E.s arrive in village.

Saturday September 11, 1915

Soldier dies. More wounded.

Saturday September 18, 1915

News of the wounded. Letter from the Dardanelles.

September 25th, 1915

Start of the Battle of Loos

Saturday September 25 1915

D.C.M. awarded. latest batch of R.E. move on. Lad hurt.

Saturday October 2 1915

Recruitment meeting. Aerial sightings. Tales of action.

Saturday October 9, 1915

News from France and the Dardanelles. Soldier killed.

Saturday October 16, 1915

Sapper dies. Graphic letter from front.

Saturday, October 23, 1915

Vegetables for sailors. 66 parish men serving.

Saturday, October 30, 1915

More recruitment meetings. Letters home.

Saturday November 6, 1915

More recruited.

Saturday, November 13, 1915

Women do farm work. Home leave.

Saturday, November 20, 1915

Latest R.E.s move out. More recruiting. Monmouthshire Regiment billeted. Parish Room refreshes soldiers.

Saturday December 11, 1915

Pressure to enlist.

Saturday , December 18, 1915

Those "waiting to see" targeted.

December 19th, 1915

The Allies started the evacuation of Gallipoli